Past Weeks and Spring Break

Many lovely things have happened these past few weeks, but here’s a short list:

I now tutor two Saudi Arabian women in ESL and could not have asked for sweeter, more caring, more intelligent ladies to work with.  It is enlightening to meet with them every week and listen to their views on religion and culture.  It’s also eye-opening to listen to their struggles in assimilating to America.  It’s heartbreaking to know these beautiful women have so much to struggle with, but it’s incredible to see how strong they are.

waffle breakfast
Making breakfast for my family over break… I finally managed to make crispy vegan waffles! They’re usually a soggy mess.

Spring break just finished.  One week of family, friends, and… well, work.  It went by way too quickly, but I am so happy I got to go home.  I missed it much more than I realized.  Over the course of the week, I managed to spend time with close friends, visit the beach, buy saltwater taffy (yum!), and see family.  Oh, and I pet SO many dogs.  I miss having a furry friend, so being able to spend time with puppies was great.  Well, they’re dogs, really, but all dogs are puppies to me.

zoe iron man
Iron Man is one of my favorite superheroes, so my close friend decided to send me some superhero mail… we also write our letters in a code (pig pen) so it’s a lot of fun to send and receive mail to her.

Mail!  I haven’t been taking pictures of everything I’ve sent or received, but there have been some gems.  I need to step up my game and start returning mail in a more timely manner.  My pen friends deserve that much.

Iben 03:14:15
This lovely mail is from Denmark. I feel like everyone except for me can pick a general color scheme and make it work!

Baking!  Cinnamon rolls are my go-to nowadays.  I also made some lovely blueberry scones the other week and some cupcakes right before I left my hometown…  I want to start snapping photos before I eat, if only to prove I made them.

cinnamon rolls

Now I’m a bit hungry from looking at them.  Not good!

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to.  In the coming weeks I’ll be working on a lot of class projects/presentation/paper (the three dreaded P’s!).

Hope you’ve all been doing wonderfully well!

8 thoughts on “Past Weeks and Spring Break

  1. Christie! I’m back again to let you know that I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award! You’re such a wonderful person, and you totally deserve it. For more info on the rules and other nominees, please check out my two most recent blog posts. Also, would it be okay if I used a picture from your blog to represent you in the post?

    Like

    1. Oh, that’s so sweet! Thank you so much. Yes, you can use a picture from my blog to represent me.
      I appreciate your kind words as well as your nomination. : )

      Like

Leave a Reply

